Skip to content

Garter Stitch Neck Sock

September 24, 2008

I have been working feverishly on new neck warmer and cowl designs.  A few have turned out great, others have been frogged, and still more are in my head waiting to be knit.  Last week I was frustrated when, after what seemed like endless hours of knitting, I had no finished objects.  So I decided to cast on this instant gratification cowl, er neck sock, to help boost my knitting confidence.

This pattern is easy, satisfying, and a great way to show off the texture and color of this bulky yarn.  What better way to use a single skein of yarn to create a new accessory to help take the chill out of fall?

  • Pattern: Garter Stitch Neck Sock, by me!

  • Yarn: Malabrigo Bulky, in Charruro, 1 skein

  • Needles: US size 9 16-inch circular

  • Notes: This pattern can be adapted to use just about any yarn or needle size.  Simply increase or decrease the number of stitches you cast on.  Mine measures just under 6 inches wide, and 22 inches around before blocking.  It stretches easily over my head and sits away from my neck slightly.  Modify number of cast on stitches if you would like yours closer or farther away from the neck.

Garter Stitch Neck Sock by Peaceful Knitter

Using size 9 16-inch circular needles and a bulky yarn:

Cast on 82 stitches.

Join to work in the round, placing a marker to indicate the beginning of the round.

K2, P2 to marker

P2, K2 to marker

Repeat these 2 rows once more, or until piece measures 1 inch long.

Knit to marker.

Purl to marker.

Repeat these 2 rows until piece measures 4.5 inches from cast on edge.

K2, P2 to marker.

P2, K2 to marker.

Repeat these 2 rows twice more, or for 1 inch (match the first band of double moss stitch)

Bind off loosely.  Weave in ends.  Block if desired.  Wear it to keep warm and stylish!

And, for those of you who have been wondering about my fish babies, here’s an action shot:

They are fast, tiny, and very difficult to photograph.  I am happy to report that I have only had one casualty, and am raising a healthy dozen or so Goldust Mollies.

3 Comments
  1. September 24, 2008 10:38 am

    Very cute neck sock. I really like the blue/brown colourway.

  2. September 24, 2008 2:11 pm

    neck sock, wheee! Love those colors! I was wondering about your little fry too :)

  3. September 25, 2008 10:03 pm

    Love it!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

