Skip to content

Burk-n-socks

May 11, 2009

Do you remember when I used to talk about the things I was actually knitting?  Yeah, me too.  So I’ve got a treat for you today: a real finished object!

100_4456

  • Yarn: Regia Design Line by Kaffe Fassett, 1.5 skeins

  • Pattern: Basic Sock Recipe, ravelled here

  • Needles: US size 1/2.25 mm Magic Loop

  • Mods: Cast on 72 stitches for boy feet!

I knit these socks in April for my dear friend Burk.  We’ve been friends since we were younger and wilder, back in college.  Actually, I’ll have to speak for myself there, because I believe he can still get a bit wild, especially if there is karaoke involved…

He has been a great admirer of my knitting career and of hand-knit socks in particular.  So when I saw his birthday approaching on the calendar, I knew I had to cast on a pair of socks as fun and interesting as he.

100_4460

While the yarn wasn’t my favorite to knit with in terms of texture, the colors were a lot of fun.  As you can see, I chose not to match up the stripes on these socks, instead letting the colors meander on their own.  This kept me entertained as I knit row upon row of stocking stitch!

This was my first time knitting socks for someone with feet larger than my own, and that presented some challenges.  Burk kindly sent me his foot measurements, and with the help of Knitting Rules I was able to come up with a 72-stitch cast on and estimates for length of leg and foot.  But I’m used to being able to try socks on and customizing the fit as I knit, and that didn’t really work in this scenario.  So Burk, I did the best I could without having your actual feet to fit them onto.  I hope they fit!

100_4466

7 Comments
  1. May 11, 2009 10:10 am

    Really colorful socks!

  2. May 11, 2009 2:08 pm

    They’re great! Fun and yet reasonably manly!

  3. May 11, 2009 6:08 pm

    I have only knit one pair for a man (brother) and they took forever due to big feet. I much prefer ladies medium! Love the colors and they way the stripes played out.

  4. May 11, 2009 10:39 pm

    it is my firm opinion that Kaffe Fasset should never stop designing sock yarns. His is the most fun I’ve had in ages knitting plain socks. He could stop all his other work and just do sock yarns for all I care about his other work. Your socks are a case in point. Fabulous.

  5. Mom permalink
    May 12, 2009 4:26 pm

    Burk-n-socks and I’ll bet he has the stocks!!! If not he’ll have to get some……Happy Birthday Burk.

  6. Catie permalink
    May 12, 2009 4:49 pm

    awsome socks!! =)

  7. May 13, 2009 9:57 am

    Beautiful socks! Love the colors.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

