Summer Camp

100_4495

Words are not quite managing to describe the experience I had last week at Squam Art Workshop in New Hampshire.  There were amazing artists, beautiful scenery, and fun people to meet all around.  The lake, trees, and chipmunks delighted me every day, while the people provided constant inspiration and support.  Treating myself to a grown up artsy-crafty summer camp experience was the best thing I’ve done in a long time.  And if you weren’t tempted already, know that there’s another session coming up in the fall…

100_4498

I focused mainly on knitting classes with Annie Modesitt which were incredible.  I learned how to make an invisible left decrease, bobbles,yarn dreadlocks, and so much more.  Mostly I enjoyed her sense of humor, clear explanations, and general attitude about knitting.

100_4499

Even though my heart belongs to knitting, I think my favorite class was with painter Marisa Haedike of Creative Thursday.  She creates the most interesting and adorable creatures in her work, both on canvas and in fabric.  Her class taught us how to take a character sketch and turn it into a Creative Character.

100_4502

Thankfully I had spent the past couple of months getting to know my sewing machine because there happened to be one almost exactly like it in class.  So I was able to focus on my critter and not how to work the machine.  This was a very playful, creative exercise, one I can see myself repeating over and over.

Here’s my finished Love Bunny with her friend Beaver, a classmate’s design:

100_4504

100_4503

A special thank you to my lovely and generous cabin-mates who helped make my experience even better.  A couple of them even have some amazing work you can go look at here.  It was a true pleasure meeting all of you!

10 thoughts on “Summer Camp

  1. Oh my gosh … beaver’s tail is ADORABLE.

    So, how many times did you swim in the lake? It looks VERY inviting.

  2. ohhhh…. that looks amazing! happy to see that you had such an inspirational visit. one of my blog-crushes was there too! fun critters! ;)

  3. I’m so jealous! :-)

    Sounded like a really good time. The bunny and beaver are so cute!

Comments are closed.