Skip to content

Hesitation.

August 21, 2009

I’m feeling a certain amount of hesitation about my Coraline sweater.

IMG_1479

There are plenty of things I like about the sweater, and a few things that are causing me to rethink my commitment.  The pattern starts out with a provisional cast-on and turned hem, which I decided to modify into garter stitch.  My foggy brain can only handle so much right now, and maneuvering a crochet hook around my knitting needles wasn’t something I was up for.  So I knit the garter border and really like how it turned out.  You can never have enough garter stitch in your life, I think!

Then I went up a needle size to 4s and have been working on the stockinette for the body.  The interesting detail here is that it has an i-cord edging which requires that you slip the first 3 stitches of every row.  It looks nice on the front, but it’s not quite coming together on the back like I had imagined.  Can you see the floats?

IMG_1481

IMG_1482

Then there’s the issue of this being a DK weight yarn on size 4 needles.  It feels like it will be 2020 before I get this sweater done and it’s only been a week! I’ve already knit an entire ball of yarn (that’s 144 yards) and feel like I don’t have much to show for it.  I only bought 10 balls altogether, and even thought that’s 1,440 yards I’m worried about running out of yarn!

So, I cast on a baby project in kitchen cotton to take my mind off these worries, hoping that things would become clear if I gave Coraline a couple of days off.  Thing is, I’m just not sure yet.  Sigh…

6 Comments
  1. August 21, 2009 3:34 pm

    Very pink! Give it a break for now and come back to it later and you will feel diffently. For the future, try some other types of provisional cast-ons and then you can decide at the end what type of edging the sweater wants to have.

  2. August 21, 2009 3:41 pm

    i like the idea of changing the bottom to garter stitch. Good call. But I can understand your hesitation on the other fronts. However, I think the floats look ok on the back – it’s not like you’re going to be able to see them once it’s being worn are you?

  3. August 22, 2009 12:20 am

    Sometimes the beginning of a project is just a big swatch. I’ve been there a lot lately. Then it’s time to let it rest, and it will tell you its secrets in the morning…

  4. August 22, 2009 7:16 pm

    I’m right there with ya! My sweater is slow going because I’m using size 2 needles with the silky wool to get gauge! So I’ll finish that sweater with you at 2020!

    Have you try tugging it while you do the i-cord edging? I had luck with the extra tugging and not have the weird floats on the wrong side.

  5. August 23, 2009 9:19 am

    When you do the icord, the floats will dissapear like magic! Oh, and I love the color!!

  6. August 23, 2009 7:47 pm

    I think it looks pretty – and I don’t think the floats will bother you when it’s finished.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 210 other followers

