Skip to content

Slow and Steady

August 24, 2009

As it happens, avoiding knitting the Coraline sweater has been good for my productivity!

This weekend I cast-on and finished one small project, and rescued a long-languishing work in progress from the pile and finished it too.

To be fair, I did take Coraline along to a cookout where she got to be with other knitting.

IMG_1486

IMG_1485

Then I ignored her for the rest of the weekend!  As some of you suggested, a time-out for knitting can be a worthwhile exercise.  We both got some time apart to think about what we’d done, and in the end came back together amicably.  I have decided not to rip her out, favoring instead the “slow and steady wins the race” approach.  I will knit steadily on this sweater, when I feel like it, and not worry when my attentions inevitably stray to other projects.

Yesterday I pulled out a project that I started back in May with the intention of making it as a gift for an expectant friend.  The pattern is Tiny Shoes, another pattern from Ysolda Teague.  They are precious, fiddly, and somewhat quick to knit.  Who knows why, after knitting the first bootie successfully, it took me 3 months to knit the second?

IMG_1504

Sadly, one bootie turned out as expected: tiny, perky, and positively perfect.  The other one is more like the ugly step-sister of the first: loose, lopsided, and much larger.  A cute pair of booties this is not.

Sigh.

IMG_1505

On right: offensive bootie

So now I have to ask myself: is this a forlorn finished object, with one bootie destined for the compost pile, the other to dangle from my rear-view mirror as a reminder of what could have been?  Or should I wait another 3 months and knit a third bootie, hoping it will be of the tiny and perfect variety?  Either way, I’m lacking a knit gift for my friend, and if I’m honest I never want to knit this pattern again.

Coraline’s looking pretty appealing right about now.

6 Comments
  1. accountantgrrl permalink
    August 24, 2009 11:37 am

    Oh dear.

    Is there any way of blocking the offensive one or maybe blocking the good one to match the offensive one?

    I’m going to bo back to knitting my Mr. Greenjeans now……

  2. August 24, 2009 2:49 pm

    I’d probably knit a third one, hoping it might match one of the other two. But you know that other possibility on that scenario…this is all just karma to make knitting Coraline seem enticing.

  3. August 24, 2009 6:24 pm

    I’d go for a third one.

    I keep looking at the pattern meaning to make it for my niece while she’s still small enough to wear them but you’re not endearing me to them!

  4. heki permalink
    August 24, 2009 6:43 pm

    I’ve done that with booties before…now I force myself to knit the whole pair at once, this way I seem to make two the same size most of the time. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one.

  5. August 25, 2009 6:22 am

    Ugh – your booties are the story of my knitting life. Whether it’s mittens, socks or the front and back of a top, one is always neat and tidy the other (usually the 1st part I knit) is all loosey-goosey. My heart would make me knit a 3rd and hope for the best.

  6. August 25, 2009 7:39 pm

    I vote for knitting a third one. Now really, aren’t there only a couple hundred stitches in it? You, who now has a few sweaters under her belt?????

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

