Skip to content

The Gift of Handmade

November 18, 2009

It has been a little overwhelming around here, what with all the baby gifts that keep showing up on our doorstep.  A very high percentage of them have been handmade; knit, crochet, or sewn, people’s talent is astounding.  I am impressed and inspired by the time and thought that has gone into each item.

The blue cabled hat is from my friend Natasha, to whom I will be forever grateful for teaching me how to knit.  She also made the blanket below, complete with itty bitty crochet edging.  The brown hat is from a family friend.  I love the big flower, don’t you?  Just in case Junior is a boy, she included a knit band and two brown buttons that could replace the flower.  Clever!

Another family friend went way above and beyond, sewing up this baby quilt, a matching fitted flannel sheet, and a couple of burp cloths.  The quilt is puffy and soft and fits perfectly in the co-sleeper I recently snagged at Once Upon A Child for 1/4 retail price.  And to think I had almost bought one new for $200!  Can you tell I love a good bargain?

And last but not least is this fabulous red sweater from a fellow Stitch ‘n Bitcher, Denise.  I’m loving the hood and the frog closures:

Thanks again to everyone for their creativity and generosity!

3 Comments
  1. Kathy permalink
    November 20, 2009 12:38 pm

    Such adorable things! What a lucky baby. XOXO

  2. veronago permalink
    November 20, 2009 3:46 pm

    I L-O-V-E the brown hat, perhaps a hand me down for a future cousin ;)

  3. Burk permalink
    November 22, 2009 7:42 pm

    That red sweater is adorable. I would TOTALLY wear that!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

