Skip to content

A Jolly Fix

December 24, 2009

It’s taken a nearly month-long hiatus from knitting at my usual pace to make me realize how much knitting affects my life.  I knew that it was a meaningful, expressive activity for me.  And without it, I feel a distinct lack of creativity in my daily life, not to mention an increase in fidgetyness!  This isn’t a complete negative.  After all, if I’m not knitting, I can spend more time on other creative pursuits like reading an actual book, baking holiday goodies, and finally getting around to hanging some pictures.  And yet…

Somewhere along the way, I got the idea that knitting up a couple of small, quick ornaments could be just the fix.  Not too much time or strain, a wee project could help lift me out of this no-knitting funk I’ve been in.  I also caved and put up our mini tree, decorated only with some twinkle lights and a spray of berry garland.  It looked a little lonely and in need of some crafty baubles!  When I stumbled upon a wreath ornament pattern on Ravelry that contained just 3 rows of knitting on size 15 needles, I knew it was a project my achy hands could handle.

I knit a couple as written, then I doubled the amount of stitches cast on and knit a few more.  Pretty soon I had a nice little stack of wooly rings ready for felting.  It’s been a long time since I’ve felted anything, but I have had past success with felting small objects in my Kitchen Aid mixer.  Remember these?  I simply boiled some water and filled up the mixing bowl about halfway.  Then you turn it on to the lowest setting (you don’t want to splash yourself) and let the mixer do the work.

The little wreaths sat like this for several days until I had the inspiration and time to pull out some decorating action.  The mood hit last night, and me and my glue gun had a great time.  Buttons, mini jingle bells, ribbon…how could you go wrong?!

  • Pattern: Felted Wreath Christmas Ornament by Moppity, free here (Ravelled here)
  • Yarn: Wool scraps from my stash, 2 strands held together
  • Needles: US size 15/ 10 mm
  • Mods:  Some were knit starting with a cast on of 30, then a plain knit round before binding off.

These wreaths were the perfect antidote to my knitting blues.  Like eating a bag of chips or cookies, they were fast, fun and easy to do.  You could probably whip up a few today if you’re in need of a little last-minute holiday cheer. Go on, check your stash…

Happy Holidays!

5 Comments
  1. December 24, 2009 2:51 pm

    OMG I wish you had posted this about 3 weeks ago! This is the first time in 10 years I didn’t make my son and 3 nieces 1 nephew ornaments this year. I was in a knitting funk and couldn’t get out of it….I bought nice handmade looking ones this year.
    I’ll save this for next year!
    Merry Christmas!

  2. December 24, 2009 5:33 pm

    Oh, those are so cute! Merry Christmas to you!

  3. December 24, 2009 9:49 pm

    Oh Sonia! These wreaths turned out so cute! Merry Christmas and Happy new Baby (soon!)

  4. December 29, 2009 5:02 pm

    Those look fantastic.

  5. December 29, 2009 5:05 pm

    Also, The knitting in the kitchen aid is GENIUS isn’t it? I am such a fan.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 202 other followers

