Skip to content

Step Into the Light

September 22, 2010

Neighbor #1: Hey, I saw some new people just moved in across the street.  Have you met them yet?

Neighbor #2: No, but I saw one of them doing something a little strange today.

Neighbor #1: Ooh, do tell!

Neighbor #2:  Well, I saw a woman walking around in the yard, taking pictures of…her feet.

Neighbor #1: …

I finished my socks!  And I have days to knit up my fiber festival hat (3 to be exact), so I am a happy knitter today.  I did have to walk around outside this morning, it was too dark in the house for photos!  It’s going to be a bit of a bumpy road finding the light in my new place.  We have some nice windows, but when it’s grey outside, there’s only so much light inside.  We do have a cool light tube, which helps brighten up a particularly dark corner of the living room, but doesn’t do much for lighting my knits.

Anyway, back to the socks.

  • Pattern: A Nice Ribbed Sock by Glenna C. (Ravelled here)
  • Yarn: Schoppel-Wolle Crazy Zauberball in color 1702, about 3/4 of the skein (I had 30 grams leftover)
  • Needles: US 1 1/2 or 2.5 mm
  • Mods: I cast on 68 stitches and did a rapidly decreasing toe, mostly because I wasn’t paying attention and knit the 1st sock too long.

Just like the pattern name promises, these are a pair of nice ribbed socks.  The simple ribbing created enough texture to show off this wild rainbow of yarn and was just enough action to keep me engaged.  How about that yarn, eh?  I just love the colors, and they are blended together so nicely.  It reminds me of the skein of Noro Sock yarn I knit with previously, but in my experience the CZ was so much nicer to knit with.  It is soft and spun more consistently than the Noro, staying at a pretty even fingering weight throughout the skein.   There also weren’t any twigs or other vegetation spun into it.  The CZ was a bit splitty on occasion (I was also knitting with Addi Lace needles–super pointy), but not so often that it became a thing.  Mostly I just sat back and knit, happily watching the colors change.  Overall I would say this was a great yarn and pattern match up and would recommend either one very highly.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to cast on this hat and think about which yarn to choose to knit these socks!

5 Comments
  1. veronago permalink
    September 22, 2010 9:44 pm

    I wonder what the neighbors will say when they see you taking pictures of your fake leg LOL LOL LOL!

  2. September 22, 2010 10:38 pm

    so great! I long to use this yarn – I just haven’t gotten around to getting any. The wow factor is huge!

    I’ve sat on my front law with my besocked feet in the air sometimes knowing full well I look like a loon!

  3. September 23, 2010 12:56 am

    Oh, that hat you’re going to knit is sooo on my queue.

  4. September 23, 2010 2:14 am

    Great socks!

  5. September 25, 2010 12:07 am

    People who photograph their knitting outside are…us!

    Yes, the neighbors will talk, but who cares?

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

