Skip to content

Take a Moment

April 11, 2011

Peaceful Baby is all about stopping to smell the flowers these days.  All flowers get equal attention and admiration, from the lowly dandelion to the newly opened tulips.  The grape hyacinths in our yard seem to be her favorite for picking.  Her enthusiasm for every little thing that is new to her has me looking at my surroundings with renewed interest.  I never really noticed how nice a daffodil smelled until I had watched her take several deep whiffs of one and decided to see what all the fuss was about.  And dandelions? They don’t smell so bad either!

Sometimes you need to take a moment to smell the flowers.  Such a simple act can be both calming and invigorating, and it may just turn your day around.

Alison recently wrote about how spring has invoked a sort of reverse hibernation in her life.  That, while the weather is changing and warming, she wants to spend more time playing around her own home, installing a garden, raising chicks, and encouraging the littles to unplug and play outside.  I have been feeling much the same way.  When it stays light until 8pm, as it has been doing around here lately, it hardly seems right to curl up on the sofa and watch tv.  It’s still a bit chilly to sit outside in the evenings, but I tell you, every time I see the sun come out, PB and I are throwing on our jackets and getting out there to stop and smell the flowers, throw some rocks, watch the ducks fly overhead, and just soak it up.

As you can imagine, there has been less knitting going on with all this time spent outdoors.  This time of year, I’m okay with that.  A few rows done here and there are fine progress, and things will get done when they get done.  I’m still working on a secret project, my around town socks, and deciding what to do about that darn Rayonnant Pullover.  There is a new issue of knitty out, and I am thinking of knitting this instead.  With any luck, I’ll be able to knit on it while sitting outside in the spring sun next to a bouquet of dandelions!

7 Comments
  1. April 11, 2011 1:17 pm

    What gorgeous flower photos. I am also all about the flowers these days – and yes, daffodils do smell lovely!

    Hope you enjoy these longer days. I know I’m soaking up all the sunshine I can.

  2. Leslie permalink
    April 11, 2011 3:31 pm

    Beautiful pictures!

  3. Connie Kacalek permalink
    April 11, 2011 4:01 pm

    The dandelion was her Great-Great Grandpa Louie’s favorite flower. So it must be in the genes. :-) It is so fun to revist everyday things through a child’s eyes. Nothing compares.

  4. April 11, 2011 6:56 pm

    The little ones teach us to appreciate the world all over again. How cute!

  5. April 12, 2011 4:59 am

    oh she’s so cute. My niece blows OUT her nose instead of in. We haven’t mastered that particular skill yet!

  6. April 12, 2011 7:00 pm

    The flowers are just beautiful! I like the look of the Rondeur knit! I just adore how little ones see the world!:-)

  7. April 13, 2011 2:11 pm

    Such a cute pic of your little girl!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 202 other followers

