Peas and Happiness

 

 

 

 

 

The day we planted the pea seeds was fun.
Waiting and watching for the first sign that they were about to poke through the carefully raked soil was sweet anticipation.
Watching their tender green leaves struggle up through the soil and reaching out to the sun was exciting.
Leaving for 10 days and coming home to really big pea plants with blossoms was a thrilling surprise.

My first pea harvest is a moment to mark on the calendars, people. This is the first time I’ve had a real garden space, so picking a vegetable that grew from a seed in my own backyard is beyond thrilling.

Just this morning PB and IΒ were strolling through the garden beds checking on things, as you do. One moment she was by my side, the next she was standing by the pea plants munching on a snap pea. I love it!

How does your garden grow on this Monday?

5 thoughts on “Peas and Happiness

  1. What a difference in climate! Our carrots are just poking through the soil, and our first strawberry has yet to turn red. We’re still waiting!

  2. Ack! My garden grows slow this morning – our tomato plant is looking good, and we have one teeny tiny bell pepper showing up and that’s it. I went out of town last week and my husband failed to water the herbs and catnip, which is now dead. GRRRRRR. The photo of PB eating her peas is too cute, nothing better than a baby in a sweater with a background of green.

  3. I am a little jealous of your garden. We’ve had a long, wet, cold, spring and it has shown in our garden. The only thing that’s really doing well is the chard!

  4. We just started our garden last weekend, but bought a flat of plants that were already growing. We should be able to harvest around the end of July.

Comments are closed.