Summer Weekending

I have been eagerly anticipating the arrival of summer in Oregon for about two months now.  It was this warm promise that got me through the cold, wet days of winter and spring; I needed a dream that these things were only temporary, that the flowers would bloom and my skin would feel the warmth of the sun again.

Throughout June, I looked out the window every morning hoping to see clear blue skies and, more often than not, they were grey.  It was pleasant out for the most part, and things were growing and blooming and generally behaving like it was summer, but there was just something missing.  For me, summer hasn’t truly begun until you put on your swimming suit (and sunscreen), eat sugary popsicles, and spend entire days out side.

Well, I’m happy to say that summer arrived here in full force on July 1st, making for a wonderfully summery weekend.  We set aside small things like laundry and housekeeping to bask in the glory of long, warm days following the whims of our toddler and our taste buds.  And it’s still happening!  I hope you all had a nice weekend and, if you celebrate it, a fantastic 4th of July.

***

Don’t worry~ I spent plenty of time knitting, too…

8 thoughts on “Summer Weekending

  1. That pizza looks delicious! I hear you about waiting for summer to arrive…so nice to have a little heat now! We put on swimming suits for the first time this weekend, too (: Happy 4th!

  2. I love that fact that PB has sauce on her forehead – that’s the sign of a good pizza! Glad to see you finally got your “summer” too – I live for the days when I don’t step outside and melt so I can understand your position, just from a different angle.

  3. as much as I’m a winter lover, the colours and tastes of summer are something to behold aren’t they? How perfectly wonderful it all looks.

Comments are closed.