Skip to content

Mystery Solved

September 5, 2011

The mystery of Stephen West’s first mystery knit-along has been solved.  I’m pleased to say that I kept up with this knit-along and finished on time, both of which may be first for me!

After a lot of excitement at the start, I ended up feeling sort of tepid about this project.  There’s so much build up for this sort of thing: popular designer, mysterious pattern, lots of chatter on the web and in Ravelry groups.  I couldn’t help but get swept up in it all.  Partway through I was a little unsure, however, as I wrote about here.  When the final clue was released, I was not excited about the edging.  I ended up modifying one option and adding a row of contrast color, which I think perks things up just a bit.

Now that the finished shawl has been sitting around for a week, it has grown on me.  Those rows of garter in the acidic yellow.  The stunning colors and zesty parallelograms.  It all works in a way I couldn’t really appreciate after binding off.   I haven’t measured my leftovers, but there’s plenty, and I’m still in love with the yarn.  Maybe I’ll make PB a funky striped hat for fall.

All in all, this was a quick, fairly easy project. The only tricky bit for me was juggling up to 3 balls of yarn at once and weaving in ends for about 2 hours. I’m not joking. Stagger your end-weaving throughout the project or you’ll go mad! I did some after each section and it really helped, but it was still a lot of time spent not knitting. You can see all the details about this project on my Ravelry page here.

That’s the third shawl I’ve finished this summer!  Two of them have been by Stephen West, even.  I suppose I’ve been a little singular in my knitting fantasies lately.  That said, I am starting to lust after some fall sweater knitting…

8 Comments
  1. September 5, 2011 7:04 am

    Very nice! I love that acidic yellow!

  2. September 5, 2011 9:45 am

    I’m such a visual person, I don’t know if I could work a mystery knit-a-long. I desperately want to try it but I hate quitting things so I’ve not yet done it. Your shawlette is adorable though – love your color combination. I’m thinking a heather grey, dusty rose and muted violet would look pretty too.

  3. September 5, 2011 12:55 pm

    wow! i had signed up for that KAL but wasn’t able to follow through… beautiful shawl! love the colors you chose. (and now that I know what it looks like – I can re select my initial colors!)

  4. September 5, 2011 2:00 pm

    That turned out great. Yours is my fave so far; I love your color combo.

  5. Melissa D. permalink
    September 5, 2011 9:26 pm

    The shawl looks amazing! Great colors and pattern. Also, don’t know if it is just me but it seems PB has grown and changed so much in a short time. She’s looking more and more like a little girl instead of a baby.

  6. Carmen permalink
    September 6, 2011 10:47 pm

    I love how yours turned out, and that yellow is fabulous :)

  7. L-B permalink
    September 7, 2011 9:37 am

    The yellow really pops out the more peaceful blue and purple!

    Re:leftovers, have you seen The Beekeeper’s Quilt on Ravelry?
    I could imagine a basket of the puffs in your new shop!

  8. September 7, 2011 4:32 pm

    I’m obsessed with that quilt and orders some patterns for the shop! Looks like such a fun use of leftovers.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 211 other followers

