Skip to content

First Chills & Thrills

December 5, 2011

Where we live in Oregon it is just beginning to feel like fall is over and early winter is settling in.  We’ve gotten the first couple of frosts, turning damp piles of leaves into crisp, glittering mounds.  The grass glows like frosted emeralds, and there is usually a fog that hovers near the ground all morning.  Yesterday we decided to venture out in the chilly, frosty morning and have an adventure with PB’s new trike.  She is loving the speed and repeatedly asks us to “go faster” and to “do more zooming.” She also likes to hop off unexpectedly to gather rocks and walking sticks. It’s pretty great.

I knit PB and her friend OP not-so-matchy matching handwarmers.  Using leftover bits of green, purple and white yarn, I knit up simple ribbed tubes with a button/thumb hole.  Easy peasy, and so fun!  Now I need a pair as I can’t seem to find any of the mitts I’ve knit in years past… What’s your favorite glove/mitten/handwarmer pattern right now?

4 Comments
  1. December 5, 2011 1:18 pm

    Happy chilly but not rainy December!

    I found my pilly old Fetchings and wore them yesterday. (I made 8 pairs one year as gifts.) I need new fingerless gloves. I think I’ll be making a pair of my OXO Hugs & Kisses Fingerless Mitts http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/hugs-and-kisses-oxo-cable-fingerless-mitts because I saw Lorajean knitting some in her KnittedWit DK Polwarth/silk at her trunk show on Saturday, and they were luscious!

  2. veronago permalink
    December 6, 2011 9:32 am

    Inspiration!!

  3. December 10, 2011 4:41 pm

    calder requested some handwarmers like this. what’s your recipe?

  4. December 10, 2011 8:24 pm

    I’ll email you!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

