Skip to content

Yarn Along:: Dragons and Crocs and Knitting, oh My!

December 28, 2011

From Small Things: ~ Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs.  I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

Welcome back to blogland!  I took a little break to enjoy the holidays with my family, and look forward to sharing some highlights with you soon.  I have been knitting and reading quite a bit, so I thought I would rejoin the Wednesday Yarn Along crew and tell you about it.

The past couple of times PB visited me at the shop, she would pull the new Yarn Harlot book off the shelf and take it over to a small stool to read.  Whether it be the book’s small size or deft humor, something appealed.  And so I decided that I had better see what all the toddler fuss was about and finally bought my own copy of All Wound Up.  With her signature wit and wisdom, Pearl-Mcphee delivers some great essays and stories that we as knitters and parents can definitely relate to.  At first, I had a hard time shaking the feeling that I had read some version of many of the stories on her blog; but she settles in and I decided to accept that there may be some overlap.

Swamplania! is a recent acquisition I made after hearing it reviewed on NPR.  It’s an insightful and quirky coming of age story about a young girl and her family’s business of running a gator-centric attraction in Florida.  They hit an unlucky patch and their livelihood and identity is threatened with extinction.  I am really enjoying the descriptive and insightful writing, and look forward to seeing where the young female narrator will go next.

And for the knitting…this is a project I cast on for ages ago when I needed something simple to work on during a long car ride.  I made it through the ribbing, then it got set aside in favor of other projects.  I picked it back up over the weekend when I again needed something simple to work on while I avoided picking up and knitting the sleeves on my Oatmeal Pullover.  The yarn is a Luminosity Project colorway called Dragon from Pigeonroof Studios, and it is indeed luminous.  So many deep and shimmering shades of green and brown!  Loving the Cream and Sugar Cowl pattern with its wide cables, though it is going a bit slowly with so many stitches on fingering weight yarn.

What’s on your nightstand and in your project bag this week?

 

8 Comments
  1. December 28, 2011 10:44 am

    Love the cowl…I made her Seedling hat and love it! Oh the yarn! See that PB is starting early on her knitting reading…

  2. December 28, 2011 11:20 am

    i have seen a few people reading “All wound up” i think i might have to get my hands on a copy. you have so much on your knitting line up. lol i am just trying to finish a sweater right now. lol

  3. December 28, 2011 11:54 am

    It’s nice to see you again! I love the color of your cowl. I brought Swamplandia home a while back but couldn’t get into it, so maybe I will try it again sometime!

  4. December 28, 2011 11:31 pm

    Love the colors in that yarn! And I have a question for you, being an avid knitter, yarn shop owner, and mother of a toddler…Do you have recommendations for a yarn that will resist pilling to make into a toddler sweater? I’ve had bad luck with recent hand-knit projects just pilling beyond recognition.

  5. December 29, 2011 12:27 am

    I’ve had pilling problems too! For toddler/baby knititng, I tend to look for tightly spun/sproingy superwash wool. Anything I’ve done that’s single ply or remotely fuzzy to begin with doesn’t last!

  6. December 29, 2011 5:48 pm

    I love the green yarn you have there.

  7. December 29, 2011 9:43 pm

    I am ready the same book this week. I felt the same way, but I also enjoyed the new stories. I love the colorway you are using. It reminds me of the Dream in Color I used for my FLS.

Trackbacks

  1. Yarn Along « Café Eclectic

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

