Skip to content

Yarn Along:: On Fire!

June 6, 2012

Yarn Along ~ Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs.  I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading? 

In my knitting basket

I’ve been knitting like wildfire on my new Tidal cardigan.  This cardigan is one I know I’ll get tons of wear out of, but isn’t the most exciting to knit.  That’s also why it was perfect for autopilot vacation knitting last week!  I took just one project with me, and knit 8 out of 11 inches for the body.  Not bad for a week’s work!  There might be something to this monogamous knitting thing… I am loving the yarn: Knitted Wit’s zesty DK Polwarth/Silk blend.  It’s soft and shiny, and has subtle hue variations from her dying process that really make the stitches sing.

On my nightstand

As a solo business woman, I often look for outside inspiration to stay motivated and innovative.  We can only do so much by ourselves, right?  To that end, I’ve recently been enjoying The Firestarter Sessions by Danielle LaPorte. Full of juicy insights and encouragement, this book is literally setting me free from some of my old thoughts and patterns.  Some gems:

Procrastination can be divine…what seems like avoidance may be a deeper inkling of wrong timing.  Hesitation can be a form of wisdom. Motivations become clearer; new motivation shows up.

~ Danielle LaPorte

And:

If you try to keep your most sacred ambitions off of your weekly calendar and your most genuine traits off of your resume, then you’re missing out on the power of real integrity.

~ Danielle LaPorte

Another business and life tool I’m utilizing right now is Marie Forleo’s amazing Rich Happy and Hot B-School e-course.  I have been following her website and enjoying her free business videos for months; when the opportunity came up to take this class, it was a no brainer.  It’s the first week, and I’ve already had a few great new ideas for my business, how to manage my family and work calendar with less overwhelm, and am generally feeling more motivated and inspired.

What’s on your nightstand and in your project basket this week?

***

Today’s post is full of enlivened women who inspire me by doing business in a way that they’re passionate about and excellent at.

Who inspires you?  Are you doing something that makes you excited to get out of bed each day?  If not, what tiny step could you take today to move toward living your dream?

6 Comments
  1. June 6, 2012 12:43 pm

    I love your cardigan colour. It’s a colour that I love, but I rarely wear… Can’t wait too see you in it!

  2. June 6, 2012 1:35 pm

    I’m knitting with that same Polwarth/Silk blend, this time in Sincere Sheep’s version (Knitted Wit and Sincere Sheep teamed up to do the {Among Friends} Club, and it’s the recent club offering). I’m knitting Thea Colman’s Vodka Lemonade cardi, and loving this yarn, again.

    Reading? Hmmm, Game of Thrones series on kindle. Again. And travel books, but those are harder to read/knit at the same time because they’re non-kindle!

  3. June 6, 2012 3:25 pm

    I’ve always got a scarf project hanging around on needles somewhere, but tonight I’m starting a blanket for my baby that will be arriving in September. I let my husband pick out the pattern and then after finding the right yarn, let him pick out the colors. That way he feels like he’s contributed, which is important since this is our first baby. I’m reading The Bandit King by Lilith Saintcrow. It’s teen fiction, but for some reason I’m drawn to that stuff. So much more imaginative and usually free of “adult”-ish content. In a few months, I’m sure I’ll have very little time for reading anything other than children’s books for the next several years so I’m enjoying books while I can.

  4. June 6, 2012 3:56 pm

    oh how I wish I could take just one project to a getaway. I have to be in the mood to knit what I knit…I LOVE that color of your sweater !!!

  5. June 6, 2012 4:10 pm

    Your books sound inspirational. Love the wool – it is so good to have an easy piece to knit sometimes – so that you can read as well…. I am not knitting at the moment but fancy knitting the long waistcoat that was in our local wool store. It was in silk type wool though which made it a bit expensive. The new wools are lovely but costly. I am used to knitting to save money not for fashion. ;)

  6. June 8, 2012 3:48 am

    What a grogeus colour! I love the quote about procrastination, that realy resonates with me.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 211 other followers

