Skip to content

In the Garden

June 18, 2012

I’ve been a major gardening slacker this season.  I would love to have a lush garden bursting with tasty possibilities, but I just haven’t been able to get myself to the place of follow through.  Part of the reason is that we have been house hunting!  And while I tour homes and look at back yards, I couldn’t really invest in planting a bunch of goodies only to have to leave them behind in a move. That said, we do have some flower pots and hanging planters that could come with us.

PB and I did scatter some seeds a few weeks back Jackson Polluck style, which has led to some interesting sprout patterns.  Like one pea plant amidst a sea of red leaf lettuce…

But the artichokes I planted last summer are going gangbusters, and I have already harvested 4 thorny morsels.  Our strawberries are also doing very well, though it’s a trick beating the slugs to the ripe berries.

How does your garden grow?

4 Comments
  1. June 18, 2012 10:24 am

    Those artichokes look delicious! Good luck with the house hunt!

  2. June 18, 2012 12:34 pm

    Not gardening for food, except for the 5 blueberry bushes that I put in several years ago. Looks like a bumper crop, again!
    I thought artichokes needed more sun that we’re getting. Those look great.
    Good luck with the house hunt!

  3. Life & Sunshine permalink
    June 18, 2012 3:31 pm

    we’re planting artichokes next year for sure! those look awesome :)

  4. June 18, 2012 9:05 pm

    Our artichokes have gone crazy despite the lack of sun. When we do get a clear day, they’re in full sun for most of it so that helps.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers

