Skip to content

One Long Weekend

June 25, 2012

Today is a quiet day of rest, recuperation, and reflection after a very long (but fun) weekend. I’m sitting here in what my mother-in-law refers to as “traveling togs”, and others call a leisure suit; whichever way you slice it, I’m comfy and loving it!

I spent the weekend participating in my first fiber festival as a vendor. Black Sheep Gathering is held each August in Eugene, OR and is a concentration of all things fibery: sheep, goats, fleece auctions, spinning circles, and a vendor marketplace. This is where the Stash booth was set up.

I feel like I ran a marathon after going through the work of list-making, packing, setup,being in the booth for 3 days, and packing up. I now understand on a much deeper level all the thought that goes into creating a successful booth, and give full-time show vendors a lot of credit. It’s not an easy gig, but once the doors open and you can literally feel people’s excitement, it is so worth it!

Before

That said, Liz* and I had a lot of fun running the booth, meeting new friends and blog readers, and basically basking in the love of Our People. You know, when you’re in a room full of like-minded people who just understand It. What ever it is. It’s blissful and exciting and inspiring, and now I want to knit all the things I saw every knitter wearing. All of them!

But first, it’s time to  put my sore feet up, tune into a knitting podcast, and get to work on my Tidal cardigan.  Nothing pushes me into “finish” mode faster than wanting a clean slate for starting new projects!

*Liz is an amazing sewer and knitter!  Check out the buntings she made for the Stash booth:

Thanks Liz!  And thanks to everyone who stopped by the booth to say hi.  You made it worth all the hard work!

5 Comments
  1. June 25, 2012 5:51 pm

    We did have fun, didn’t we?! I’m feeling much more human after lounging around all day! Hope you’re recuperating, too!

  2. veronago permalink
    June 26, 2012 7:14 am

    This is awesome. The booth looks great and I LOVE the suitcases! Glad you had a great time.

  3. June 26, 2012 11:46 pm

    Your booth is super cute. Those buntings are adorable! I’m glad that the weekend went well!
    (Katie W)

  4. Burk permalink
    July 1, 2012 10:47 am

    The booth looks great! Well merchandised! Very exciting.

  5. July 6, 2012 7:30 am

    Thank you!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

