Mystery Shawl 2012

2011 Westknits KAL

Last year I knit along with other Stephen West fans as we discovered the weekly clues of his first-ever mystery shawl knit-along.  I loved my colors, and was happy with the bold, graphic design.  Something about the pattern and moving at a deliberate pace turned me off after a few weeks, and I was anxious to bind off as soon as the last clue was released.  It’s a lovely little shawl, just a bit too little for my taste.  Not being the sort of knitter to undo and reknit to make it larger, I simply don’t wear it, opting instead to let it hang on a hook with the rest of my hand-knit shawls.  Funny thing, though: as I was looking through the photos, it seems perfectly wearable as a small scarf.  Maybe I’ll dust it off after all!

This year I’m hoping for a different outcome.  Judging from the yardage requirements, this is going to be a generous shawl.  I’ve been daydreaming about this color combination since the Hazel Knits arrived at the shop, and I think it will be a good choice for the knit along.

Swans Island Organic in Seasmoke + Hazel Knits in Electrolyte.

There’s still time to purchase the pattern before the knit along begins on July 13th.  After that, the pattern will not be available for download until after the KAL is finished up.

Will you be playing along?

3 thoughts on “Mystery Shawl 2012

Comments are closed.