Stitch by Stitch

The first clue of the Westknits Mystery KAL was released this past Friday, and with it a flurry of intense excitement.  I started waiting anxiously on Thursday night to see if the clue would be released at midnight EST (9pm my time). Even though it wasn’t, I was happy to see the update in my Ravelry library Friday morning.  So excited, in fact, that I cast on at work.  Shhh…don’t tell my boss!

Spoiler pic coming up, so stop here if you don’t want to know.

This little fan of knitting is just filled with interesting techniques: attached i-cord edging, short-row shaping, carrying a color up one side, and more. It immediately grabbed my attention and the attention of knitters worldwide; there are over 2,300 projects already!  There has been a lot of photo sharing a discussion in the group about preferred methods of creating short rows, the pros and cons of various color combos, and plenty of general good cheer amongst participants. While I cannot keep up with all the chatter, it is comforting to know that should i have a question there is a pool of knowledge there to help almost instantly.  The joys of a knit-along!

I’m happily knitting along, one stitch and one wedge at a time, hoping to finish my homework in time for Friday’s clue.  And yes, that means all other projects have been sidelined for the time being.

Are you playing along?  Leave a comment and tell us what color combo you’ve chosen!

2 thoughts on “Stitch by Stitch

  1. I ordered the pattern and after the first clue was released, I noticed that it looked so much like Spectra (which I have already knit), that I am going to hold off starting the KAL. I am hoping that clue #2 is sufficiently different from Spectra that it will make me want to cast on immediately. I love my Spectra, but I don’t want to knit another shawl that too closely resembles it.

Comments are closed.