Skip to content

Long Days + a New Sweater

September 15, 2012

The days are long right now. Early morning wake ups combined with hours full of fun, work, challenge, stress, and play: all the things that make up ones day. It all seems incompatible, yet at the end of the day it is the paradox that makes up my life right now. The transition from work to home life is particularly challenging.  I’m working on eliminating unnecessary stresses and adding in things that fill by cup of bliss, but it is hard (as I know you know).

When times get like this, I turn to my knitting. Always the knitting. It has changed my life in so many ways, and continues to be a source of calm, creativity, and comfort.

Over the weekend I got a chance to take some photos of my finished Tidal Cardigan.  It’s been done for a fair while now, but I have to admit I wasn’t in love with it at first.  It’s a little bit too big, the buttons a bit small. Because it wasn’t perfect I hesitated sharing it in this space.  Silly, right?!

These things happen in knitting as in life, and the more we choose to only share what’s gone according to plan, the more we perpetuate this idea of perfection.  Particularly in the blog world…

In any case, this sweet cardigan has grown on me.  There are ways to fix what bugs me about it, and that’s a gift; not everything can be altered or redone after the fact.  Nor should it. Instead of focusing on what I don’t like about something (or didn’t accomplish), I’m going to shout out what did go well.

The seaming is beautiful on this sweater! The yarn is cheery and has silk!

Okay, that’s enough of the Peaceful philosopher brain dump for today!

12 Comments
  1. September 15, 2012 6:38 am

    Love your cardigan! Knitting is always a soothing companion during stressful times and I take mine with me everywhere, well not to work but everywhere else :)

  2. September 15, 2012 10:01 am

    That’s very cute. And I’m a big fan of post-FO adjustments; we spend so much time on the knitting, just a little more can make a big difference in fit.

    And a donut helps on the path to bliss!

  3. Sarah JS permalink
    September 15, 2012 1:34 pm

    It’s wonderful when I can accept something, flaws and all. (Suppose I should write “perceived flaws.” I’d heard a phrase about this, so had to find it …

    “Be content with what you have;
    rejoice in the way things are.
    When you realize there is nothing lacking,
    the whole world belongs to you.”
    ― Lao Tzu

    Happy weekend!

  4. reneevlast permalink
    September 15, 2012 2:07 pm

    I think your cardigan is lovely!

    Like you, I always turn to my knitting too. It grounds me and keeps me calm.

    Happy knitting :)

  5. Sandee permalink
    September 15, 2012 3:36 pm

    It’s beautiful – gorgeous color and the style looks wonderful on you. Enjoy wearing it!

  6. September 16, 2012 12:51 pm

    I thought I would say hi. I just found your blog & have enjoyed looking around. I’ll be back!

  7. Burk & Sandi permalink
    September 16, 2012 1:40 pm

    Great cardigan! Mom and I love that color. Here in Idaho visiting for a couple days! I made your blog one of her favorites, so she can read it regularly!.

  8. Granny permalink
    September 16, 2012 5:59 pm

    Looking good!

  9. September 18, 2012 10:26 am

    LOVE that quote, Sarah. Thanks for sharing!

  10. September 18, 2012 10:26 am

    Hello and welcome!

  11. Claudia permalink
    October 11, 2012 9:13 am

    I think your sweater is beautiful. And I concur with your sentiment about only representing the perfetc – in life and in blogs. It’s good to see imperfections! Makles like interesting (and less stressful)!

  12. Claudia permalink
    October 11, 2012 9:15 am

    Sorry for all the above typos! I’m sneaking a peak at your blog at work and I typed too fast! LOL

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

