Skip to content

Yarn Along:: Out of Hibernation

September 19, 2012

From Ginny: Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs.  I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. 
We went to the beach over the weekend with Sweetie’s parents. Knowing there would be a 4 to 1 ratio of capable adults to curious toddler, I figured my chances of getting some knitting done were pretty good. So I pulled out my Hooray Cardigan from last winter. This sweater was off to such a good start, and then something happened with the cables and it went into long-term hibernation. It did require about on hour of cable surgery (again), but now I am back on track and have divided for the sleeves. I seem to have a case of the sweater knitting lately, as I plan on casting on the Rocky Coast cardigan this week as part of our fall knit-along over at Stash.

I just started reading wild and am really enjoying it so far. I am not a backpacker by any stretch (there was that one time in Glacier that ended in me staying awake most of the night with fear and indigestion). Three chapters in, I am a loving Strayed’s writing and look forward to seeing where her adventure hiking the Pacific Crest Trail takes her next.

What’s on your nightstand and in your project basket this week?

6 Comments
  1. September 19, 2012 7:52 pm

    Great projects and I really love the color of the yarn you are using!

  2. caityrosey permalink
    September 19, 2012 9:47 pm

    I read (or rather, listened to) Wild a few weeks ago. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. It’s the kind of book that serves as both inspiration and cautionary tale, all in one. I can’t decide whether, after reading it, I want to hike more, or never hike again ;-)

  3. Leslie permalink
    September 19, 2012 10:34 pm

    Pretty sweater Sonia. I recently read “Wild.” I enjoyed it, but not quite sure why it motivated Oprah to restart her book club. In any event, I’m delighted that she did.

  4. September 20, 2012 7:50 am

    The color of that sweater is gorgeous, Sonia! And it’s so cable-tastic, too.

    One of the newbies at our SnB made the Rocky Coast Cardigan. She had very good things to say about the book. So good luck!

  5. September 22, 2012 1:36 am

    Beautiful color! Most of my reading is work related, but lately I’ve started watching documentaries on Netflix while I knit. I watched a many part British documentary on Auschwitz and am now working my way through Ken Burns’ documentary on the U.S. Civil War. Rather somber but I learn a lot. :)

  6. September 27, 2012 6:13 pm

    That’s a great idea! I often listen to knitting podcasts while I’m knitting.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 202 other followers

