Skip to content

Yarn Along:: Beginnings + Endings

November 7, 2012

I’ve been reading a new book, the sweeping sequel to The Passage.  It’s complex and moving, even a little sad and scary at times.  It’s epic and will probably take me a bit to get through.  And that’s okay, especially with the help of a before-work-mocha and reading moment from time to time.

My fall sweater is nearly finished!  I am actually ready to start the ribbing on the second cuff and will hopefully be done tonight!  Just in time to jet off to Hawaii for a long weekend with Sweetie to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary.

Which brings me to the subject of travel knitting.  As you know, a lot of careful thought and planning goes into strategizing vacation knitting projects.  The amount of sedentary travel time directly affects the number and complexity of projects I take.

This time I am excited to unearth some single skeins from deep stash and will be attempting a small project on each flight to and fro.  I’m thinking this and this.  And I might also throw in a sock-in-progress for good measure.  I only took one project with me to New York and I finished it on the flight over!  Better to overpack, I say.

What’s on your nightstand and in your project basket this week?

Thanks to Ginny for the Yarn Along inspiration!

11 Comments
  1. November 7, 2012 10:24 am

    Oh my goodness! Happy Anniversary to you and Sweetie!!!!!

  2. November 7, 2012 10:46 am

    Happy Anniversary! I hope you have a lovely time! The sweater is beautiful.

  3. November 7, 2012 10:56 am

    that sweater looks wonderful. enjoy your lovely holiday! happy number 10!

  4. November 7, 2012 11:24 am

    Happy anniversary! 10 years is a lovely milestone.

    I looked at your proposed travel projects. You definitely need more! Two small projects won’t carry you through. I like one skein shawlettes because there’s a lot of yardage but a skein’s worth of fingering weight doesn’t take much room. I have a new design coming out that is a result of our September anniversary trip to Europe. One skein shawlette!

  5. November 7, 2012 3:51 pm

    You’re giving me permission to bring more projects?! Yipee!

  6. November 7, 2012 3:52 pm

    Thank you!

  7. November 7, 2012 3:52 pm

    Thank you! : )

  8. reneevlast permalink
    November 7, 2012 4:10 pm

    Happy anniversary :)

    And so glad to know that it’s okay to take knitting on the plane again (I haven’t flown for almost a couple of years and last time I asked they wouldn’t let me take knitting on the flight!).

  9. November 7, 2012 6:38 pm

    happy anniversary! such a beautiful rocky coast. i love to plan my travel knits as much as the trip, and yes, better to over bring! although nyc has some of the best yarn shops!

  10. November 7, 2012 7:08 pm

    I just finished reading about your adventure during Sandy—WOW ! Glad you found a friend during the storm and all is safe. I too love to plane my travel knits and love to complete them on the trip.

  11. November 13, 2012 5:42 pm

    Hello Sonia!! How are you? It’s been too long. :) I’ve kept up reading your blog but haven’t done so well in the communicating part. Did you ever finish writing the pattern for Hush? I still have Malabrigo yarn just waiting to be cast on. How’s PB? Hope all is well and glad you made it home safely.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 202 other followers

