Skip to content

Yarn Along :: Cake + Knitting

December 12, 2012

DSC_0615

From Ginny: ~ Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs.  I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

***

I cannot stop reading this book.

I don’t usually go in for short fiction.  In the past, I’ve found short stories to be a little bit heartbreaking, pulling you into these rich worlds, only to spit you back out a few short pages later.  But Sarah Selecky’s collection, This Cake is for the Party, offers more comfort and intimacy than that.  I’ve felt transported to a new life in each story, and while I’m a little sad when they’re over, I’m never disappointed.

Cake is contemporary, honest, and wryly funny, with plenty of heart, sensuality, and ache mixed in.  The stories are just long/short enough to indulge in over coffee before work, or in the tub after a long day.  And not only is Selecky’s fiction work worth checking out, so is her writing project and website.  So much inspiration for writers and readers alike!

As for the knitting, well that’s still a holiday secret.  But I will tell you this: it’s almost finished, and I’m absolutely itching to cast on something that’s just for me.

So what’s in your project bag and on your nightstand this week?

One Comment
  1. December 12, 2012 6:18 am

    That looks kike a great book and one I would like!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

