Skip to content

Yarn Along :: Circus Stripes

September 4, 2013

Image

Follow me on Instagram as soniaruyts

A few weeks ago, it was light when I woke up.  Lately, it’s been just on the edges of a deep darkness at the same time.  And just like that, summer began its slow shift into autumn.  I’m trying to spend time reminiscing over all the fun, truly summer activities we got to enjoy instead of mounring its inevitable end.  At the same time I’m enjoying the tinge of cool that is creeping in around the edges of each day.

This has me thinking about ways to cozy up my home and dreaming of sweaters to knit with a golden yellow yarn I have stashed for such a purpose.  For now, though, while the days are still quite warm and the evenings a bit brisk, I’m curling up with miles and miles of garter stitch and a journey to another place and time. While continuing to daydream about sweaters, of course.

Image

Night Circus and Happy Street by Veera Valimaki {my Ravelry notes are here}

Image

Both the book and my project capruted my imagination the very first time I saw them.  It took me a while to decide to spend time with either; I tend to shy away from some of the best patterns and books simply because it seems everyone else is already been there.  I had always admired Color Affection by the same designer, but didn’t do it for that reason (nearly 10k projects!).  And here I go mimiking her more recent pattern by using the same color palette.  Oh well.  It’s a bit mysterious, a bit candy crush, and very fun to knit.

The book has been a real treat to immerse myself in.  A mysterios traveling circus.  A challenge between two powerful, magical people.  Fabulous settings, costumes, and illusions fill the pages, and I am hooked.

> > >  < < <

This Yarn Along post, as ever, is inspired by the lovely Ginny over at Small Things: “Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs.  I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?”

Yes, do tell! What’s on your nightstand and project bag this week?

8 Comments
  1. katieleigh permalink
    September 4, 2013 10:11 am

    I LOVED The Night Circus. So glad you’re enjoying it. And what a happy shawl!

  2. September 4, 2013 10:34 am

    Literally seven projects….three baby sweaters, a balaclava, a set of leg warmers, and two ruffle scarves

  3. September 4, 2013 11:06 am

    Night Circus was a good book. Unique and like a magical fairytale. The colors of your shawl are fun. Grey is such a great neutral to use with any color.
    I have lots of Maeve Binchy’s books in my nightstand along with the third book of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series. I fell in love with Maeve because her characters are true to life of ppl we either know or have heard or read about. And all the settings are in the beautiful land of Ireland.
    As for projects I have socks and a ripple.

  4. September 4, 2013 3:42 pm

    lovely project … I feel the same way about some of Veera’s designs but did cast on for a colour affection anyways. I really love this colour combo, so lively!

  5. September 5, 2013 10:19 am

    Love the colours! and your wool looks nice and soft. How is the pattern? Is good one? I’ve only used free patterns on ravelry so far but I think this one could be good for a boyfriend scarf (well not in pink though)

  6. September 5, 2013 4:28 pm

    Goodness, those yarn colors and that pattern are perfection together! And Night Circus is one of my favorite books, ever!

  7. September 6, 2013 9:58 pm

    The pattern is great; beautifully laid out and clearly written. Highly recommend her patterns!

Trackbacks

  1. Yarn Along | Peaceful Knitter

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

