Skip to content

Yarn Along

September 18, 2013

yarn along photo

 

Over the weekend I finished both the book and knitting project I shared last time.  Both were a real treat!  Before I even bound off my shawl, I started plotting my next 2 projects.  The golden-yellow yarn in the back is a swatch for a sweater; I’m on the fence about this, so should probably finish off the swatch and block it already.  Next, I pulled this rainbow yarn from my stash and cast on a quick hat.  You know, just to have something ready to go.  I wouldn’t want to be caught without a portable knitting project!  After knitting the brim in a strip and picking up stitches for the body of the hat, this will be perfect potato chip knitting.

The book’s a quick read as well.  I have already watched season one of Orange is the New Black on Netflix and loved it.  It is rare that a television show have so many rich and nuanced female characters in one show.  The book is Piper Kerman’s account of what led up to and including her spending a year in federal prison.  She is respectful and empathetic for the most part, even when describing unimaginable treatment by the prison staff or the circumstances of her fellow inmates.  I find it fascinating and upsetting all at once.  I’m learning a lot about one person’s experience, and it is shocking to me how people are treated in prison. After having seen the show first I keep wondering how much from the show parallels her real life experience.  I’d recommend reading the book first, maybe, so there isn’t that fact/fiction comparison.  Although it would probably happen in reverse, too.  Either way, I recommend both, so choose your own adventure!

> > >  < < <

As an aside, I’d like to mention that we have a shiny new Stash blog with a great interview with knitting designer Susan B. Anderson.  You should head over and enter to win a copy of her most recent book, Topsy-Turvy Inside-Out Knit Toys!

> > >  < < <

This Yarn Along post, as ever, is inspired by the lovely Ginny over at Small Things: ”Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs.  I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?”

Yes, do tell! What’s on your nightstand and project bag this week?

 

6 Comments
  1. caityrosey permalink
    September 18, 2013 11:39 am

    I just finished reading the memoir and am watching the show. At first I was a bit upset at how sensationalized the TV show was. All the best parts of the book are there, but they turn everything up to 15. Eventually, what I decided was that the book was only a jumping off point for the TV show and that they never really intended to tell the same story. And I think I’m OK with that, but the whiff of authenticity is gone.

  2. September 18, 2013 7:38 pm

    Interesting, thanks for sharing! I’m going to think of the show as fiction based on a memior; if they only included what was in the book, the show wouldn’t have much of a lifespan!

  3. September 18, 2013 9:11 pm

    Your rainbow hat is fun. It can only evoke smiles. I can’t wait to see more ylof your sweater. I really like that yellow.
    I just finished book #3 of the Percy Jackson series. I started Maeve Binchy’s The Glass Lake and the popular book, The Help. I have two of my mum’s library books (Debbie Macimber and Barbara Delinksy) so I’m gonna read them first before they’re due.
    As for project bag(s), I’ve got two of Susan’s designs – a toy snake (a gift) and earflap hat (for moi). My head is small so I’m able to go up a few needle sizes to make the Itty Nitty Inca Snowflake for myself. I’m trying out barber pole striping on it. I’ve also have a pair of toe up socks and a hooked ripple that need attention.
    Susan is just splendid. I was lucky to meet her @Vogue Knitting Live, LA in 2011. She signed all of my three books.

  4. September 19, 2013 6:16 am

    I have all sorts of things going on in my knitting and reading life. I really need to get my Rhinebeck hat cast one. Once again, we are going for ca-razy! :-)

  5. September 24, 2013 10:45 am

    That rainbow yarn look lush! Is it Mochi?

  6. November 1, 2013 6:42 am

    How did you decide where to locate your shop? How did you figure out if the area could support a yarn shop? How did you decide which yarns to carry?

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 202 other followers

