Skip to content

Yarn Along: A Spree

February 5, 2014

IMG_5790

From Ginny: ~ Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs.  I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

I have been knitting and reading up a storm this winter. Something about the weather sends me to the couch in the evenings for knitting, curled up in front of the fire watching something on tv with my sweetie. And then to bed early to curl up with a book.  There has been plenty of both the past couple of months, and it feels really good.  Good to take care of myself and make time for the things that bring me comfort, peace, and creativity.

Currently I’m reading The House Girl. It’s a rich story of the complications of two women, generations apart: life as a young slave, and life as a young career woman.  There’s a lot of complexity to the story that I’m really enjoying, even early on.  I can’t wait to see how it all ties together.  Some other recent reads that have been a treat: DivergentLove Walked InBelong to Me.

My fall sweater has been seeing a lot of action recently.  I started this as part of a Stash knit along, but it got set aside in favor of another sweater and holdiay projects.  The Anzula For Better or Worsted is a dream to knit with; once I start, I don’t want to touch anything else!  So now I’m pointing my laser focus at it and trying to get the pieces finished asap.

And yet…I just wound up yarn for 4 new projects.  We’re heading out on a sunny vacation soon, and I may have gotten a bit carried away.  But you know what? Each of these projects has been on my mind for ages, so why not have the yarn, pattern, and needles ready to go when the mood strikes?!  I’ll probably take 2 with me on vacation.  Or 3. We’ll see.

2 Comments
  1. Dona permalink
    February 6, 2014 10:16 am

    Reading The Thousand Autumns of Jacob De Zoet. by David Mitchell (of Cloud Atlas fame). Knitting some fingerless convertible mittens from pattern by Marly Bird. A bit late in the season for mittens, perhaps, but cold enough today!

  2. February 6, 2014 7:34 pm

    I love to get future projects ready in advance. It’s best if I don’t give into startitis,though.

    Let us know how you like the book when you’re done reading it. I’ve had my eye on that one.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 202 other followers

