Skip to content

Early Bird Gets the Mojo

August 5, 2009

The Early Bird paid a visit to our house this morning, and as a result we had homemade zucchini bread in our bellies by 8:30 am.  I’ve been wanting to bake up a batch of this kind of goodness since Saturday when we visited a friend’s farm stand.  Because of all the rain we’ve had this summer, many of her veggies didn’t exactly thrive.  The squash, and specifically the zucchini, have loved this weather.

Here is where I would put a photo of the mammoth vegetable we purchased, but I forgot.  It was at least 2 feet long and weighed about 2 pounds.

So up early with my Betty Crocker cookbook, I made this simple and delicious quick bread.  The recipe makes 2 loaves, so I wrapped one up and threw it in the freezer for later.  Of course, Sweetie and I demolished half of the other loaf for breakfast…

100_4538

On to knitting news, I have two works in progress to show you.  I also noticed, as I was updating my Ravelry projects, that I have a few older and abandoned works in progress.  These are hibernating for now, and I have no plans to get to them any time soon.  This is very out of character for me, as I usually can only stand to have 2 things on the needles at a time.  Onward and upward is my current motto!

100_4543

This is my second Ishbel shawl in Malabrigo sock yarn, color Abril.  I have finished the stockinette center and am currently waiting for inspiration to strike before I get started on the lace charts.  It’s been about a week and a half since I’ve knit on it.

Instead, I got excited to start a a baby cardigan.  This is the Little Coffee Bean Cardi in a hand-painted yarn from Purlsoup Fibers.  I am really enjoying the pattern and the yarn together.  The yarn is more lavender than I had realized before I started knitting with it, but I love all the bright flecks of colors that pop up.  All I have left is a sleeve and the button bands.

100_4540

So that’s where my knitting is at today.  I am also making plans to start a cardigan for myself as well as more baby knits.  I don’t want to jinx things, but I think my knitting mojo may be creeping back!  Shhh…we don’t want to scare it away….

4 Comments
  1. August 5, 2009 9:51 pm

    Mmmmmm. The zucchini bread made me hungry for some! Both the projects look great!

  2. August 5, 2009 10:41 pm

    Ooooo…that zucchini bread looks good! Slathered with butter..Mmmmmmm…..

    Love the colors in that baby cardi -I can picture it with little blue jeans! I think the knitting mojo will understand and respect the need for baby knits. :)

  3. August 6, 2009 8:55 am

    What a great colorway for the new Ishbel! I think Malabrigo Sock is my favorite yarn for shawls now. It’s so soft and warm!

  4. August 7, 2009 12:54 am

    Malabrigo Sock makes a great Ishbel. So soft! I did run out of yarn on the large one, though, and was rescued by a Raveler.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

