Skip to content

Yarn Along:: Mysteries & Plagues

August 17, 2011

Yarn Along-ing with Ginny this week…

Sweetie recently picked this book up for me at the Borders going out of business sale. I had heard good things about it (and their tv show) from some of you. While I was curious, I just didn’t think I had another city-dweller-turned-farmer memoir in me at the moment.  I binged pretty hard on the genre earlier this spring/summer!

In between library books I decided to pick it up, and have been enjoying it ever since.  Part of the allure for me is the author’s unflinching look at the struggles of building a farm on weekends while trying to maintain a relationship and two full-time jobs. It’s also his writing style: wry, honest, witty, and full of personal anecdotes about Martha Stewart.  I have my own Martha story, did I ever tell you? It involves making pistachio brittle for her show, feeling the chill as she walked into the room behind me, and later sneaking a hold of one of her Emmys.  But I digress… This is a fun, interesting read, a perfect compliment to my days of working on starting a business and playing in the garden with PB.

The first two clues of the Westknits Mystery knit along were very small, leaving me wanting more.  When the third clue came out a little early, I was delighted, and have been working away on this larger chunk of knitting every chance I get.  I love this yarn and my color combination, but remain a but uncertain.  Bold color combinations don’t bother me, but not knowing how it’s all going to turn up leaves me a little nervous! I am reserving judgment for now, choosing to trust in the design and hoping for a spunky yet wearable shawl when all is said and done.

What is on your nightstand and needles this week?

6 Comments
  1. veronago permalink
    August 17, 2011 7:04 am

    I don’t have anything on my night stand yet… but I am working on it!!

  2. August 17, 2011 8:05 am

    Exciting with a mystery knit! I’m knitting a shawl called Gratitude leaf shawl, lovely pattern and yarn! And I’m reading “Spill” by the Swedish writer Sigrid Combüchen

  3. August 17, 2011 1:59 pm

    the mystery knit is coming along nicely! I love the colors you chose. I of course bought the pattern but haven’t been able to cast on yet! And I’m reading “One Day” by David Nicholls – sooo romantic!

  4. August 17, 2011 4:37 pm

    How fun! It will be interesting to watch your progress on this mysterious project. Love the title of your book–sounds like a very entertaining read!

    Come by and say hello!
    :)

  5. August 17, 2011 6:23 pm

    Lovin’ it! Really, those are such good colors. It’s definitely spunky :) I got stuck in a rut once with colors, and am trying to pull myself out of it. Tend to go for muted colors…so this piece is refreshing.

  6. August 17, 2011 7:15 pm

    I like the mystery shawl so far! The colors you chose are quite flattering together. The book your reading looks great, I will look for it at the library.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

