Skip to content

Yarn Along:: Page Turners and Simple Knits

October 12, 2011

From small things:  Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading? 

This week I am reading The Rest of Her Life by Laura Moriarty.  At first glance you think this book is going to be about a family’s fallout after a deadly car accident. And that part of the story is complex, touching and challenging, to be sure. The flashbacks to the narrator’s childhood and early married life is what is really resonating with me, however. It all works together to make a story that is rife with the complexities of parent-child relationships, parenting, and marriage.  While it’s not the most cheerful book ever written, it is one that I am consistently staying up past my bedtime to read, and that’s always fun!

On the needles is a sweet little dress from Phoebe’s Sweater, a book I first learned about when Ginny made her daughter the namesake sweater. While I aim to make PB the charming hooded sweater coat at some point, making the mouse doll and dress is more my speed these days. Yarn is Imperial Yarn Columbia 2-ply from Stash.

What’s on your nightstand and needles this week?

6 Comments
  1. October 12, 2011 3:30 am

    Oh Phoebe’s Sweater is such a sweet little book and I’m hoping one day to make the sweater to. If not for my daughter then when my sister has kids maybe I can make one for her *grin*.

  2. October 12, 2011 7:39 am

    gorgeous photograph! Phoebe´s sweater sounds adorable!!

  3. October 12, 2011 1:48 pm

    The book sounds very interesting. I may have to look for that.

  4. accountantgrrl permalink
    October 12, 2011 1:49 pm

    The book sounds great, Sonia.

    I have to get my hands on “Phoebe’s Sweater” sometime. it looks like such a cute book.

    And lucky you with the yarn shop at your disposal! I’m so jealous but incredibly happy for you!

  5. October 12, 2011 2:49 pm

    Love the yarn you chose very vibrant color! The book sounds interesting, I’ll keep a look out for it.

Trackbacks

  1. Yarn Along:: Page Turners and Simple Knits « Peaceful Knitter | Knitting Instructions

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers

