Skip to content

Yarn Along:: Hitchhiking onto The Marriage Plot

January 18, 2012

Book: The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenedies Knit: Hitchhiker Scarf in Madelinetosh Sock’s Black Velvet

This week I’m celebrating the discoveries of others: a book that one of my friends and her husband read in record time, and a knit another friend recommended via Facebook. Whether it’s lack of imagination, or feeling inspired at just the right moment, both the book and the knit are perfect for right now.

This scarf is just the antidote to the single skein of sock yarn dilemma (when you don’t want to knit socks!); you just knit until you’re almost out of yarn, maximizing yardage and garter stitch bliss.  I can often be heard muttering “just one more tooth…”.  The book is a coming of age novel about recent college graduates in the 1980s.  Alternately heady and intimate, it is reminiscent of my Freshman year stint as an English major.  I can tell this will be something I can really sink my teeth into.

Like many of you, I’m feeling inspired to knit down my stash right now. I’ve been casting on new projects with home stash and shop stash like crazy.  To help the matter along, I have some new destash yarn for sale over on Ravelry.  There may even be a giveaway or two in the near future.

What’s in your project bag and on your nightstand this week?

*Yarn Along, from Ginny @ small things: ~ Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs.  I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

21 Comments
  1. Rachelle permalink
    January 18, 2012 9:42 am

    I have a pair of slippers on one set of needles and a wool/cashmere ear warmer on another. Figure i should keep top and bottom warm :)

  2. January 18, 2012 9:46 am

    Wow, that hike certainly looked cold but fun – there is something magical about snow! We have just moved from north of England to South so we are having a warmer winter which is pleasant but I will miss the snow but not the cold!
    I like knitting and did a lot when I was young but recently I have been doing crochet and have finished two blankets. I dislike sewing in all the ends! Only made in the granny squares but my grandson spied the crochet book that I bought from Amazon and chose a square pattern that he wanted in a cushion so I am enjoying making that as it is fast and easy for the cold evenings next to the fire. . I am going to start on a blanket for my daughter but as she runs a B&B and her interior design is based around the seaside and holidays I must be much more circumspect in my choice of colours!!
    The difference about crochet and kitting is I have to look at almost every stitch with crochet whereas when knitting there are often long straight parts where you can read or watch a move.
    I have just finished an Irish Novel called 5 days in Zaragoza by Karen Gillece.
    But I am a writer and prefer writing and editing to reading at the moment. I look forward to seeing my historical novel for sale in America – now that would be the icing on the cake huh?
    We are lucky in our small town to have a wool shop with some delightful wools stocked by people like yourself that love what they are doing.

  3. January 18, 2012 9:49 am

    In the piece of knitting that you have in the above photo have you knitted the pointed edge in first and then knitting upward? Lovely colours by the way.

  4. January 18, 2012 10:12 am

    I love the hitchhiker pattern, so soothing and perfect for single skeins. Love the colour you are using for yours :)

  5. January 18, 2012 10:21 am

    It’s knit side to side, binding off a few stitches every few rows to create the point. So fun!

  6. January 18, 2012 12:35 pm

    Thankyou. It looks fun. And we need plenty of that! I will give it a try.

  7. January 18, 2012 3:52 pm

    Love, Love, Love your yarn in that scarf–but I always do love Madelinetosh yarn-such rich colors and beautiful textures. I want to look up that pattern, it looks like a fun one to work on while watching tv.
    *smiles*

  8. January 18, 2012 7:22 pm

    Lovely shawl, I think garter stitch is wonderful and awfully under-appreciated. I love the way it looks with varigated yarn!!

  9. January 18, 2012 7:26 pm

    I’m knitting a little design project for Knitted Wit in that delicious Polwarth wool/silk blend that you used for your Ziggy Hat. Love it! Can’t blog it yet, though, no pix. And I’m reading the Steve Jobs biography. Last week I finished Tina Fey’s “Bossypants” for book group; it was OK but I think she’s pretty guarded so I didn’t get to know *her*, just about things she’d done. And I also cranked through “A Reliable Wife” by Robert Goolrick which was strange but good. Plot twists abound!

  10. January 18, 2012 8:50 pm

    That pattern looks great. I am always looking for simple shawl or scarf patterns to keep my hands busy while I homeschool.

  11. January 19, 2012 2:49 am

    i’m in love with garter stitch, and it looks lovely with this pattern. love the m.t. too.

  12. January 19, 2012 6:57 am

    Is there any chance of the pattern for that lovely blue scarf/shawl that you are wearing in your headline photo? It looks so delicate and comfortable.

  13. Krista Boggs permalink
    January 19, 2012 8:31 am

    I am knitting my first sweater for my son who is two. I am really enjoying it so far and am excited to have him wear it. I am also reading “South of Broad” by Pat Conroy. It is my first Pat Conroy and it is a good book so far. Your scarf is beautiful. I love the pattern and colors!

  14. January 19, 2012 10:21 am

    Yes, that is the Hamamelis Shawl by Kirsten Kapur, blogged here.

  15. January 19, 2012 11:23 am

    Thank you very much. Happy doing days. It is just before twilight here – and the birds are settling in for the night and a pink touch to the clouds behind the hills – so quiet moments too.

  16. January 19, 2012 12:42 pm

    Just added that pattern to the queue!

  17. January 19, 2012 6:05 pm

    It isn’t any surprise that the ladies in the scottish islands that knit fair isle sweaters live to be a good old age. There is something so immersing about knitting – when it is going well. Have you tried any fair isle patterns? Or Kaffe Fasset designs?

  18. January 20, 2012 2:42 pm

    That book is on my to read list for sure. Just need to get through all the other ones I have already checked out…perhaps I should try the audiobook?

  19. January 22, 2012 3:15 am

    oh i love the colour you’ve chosen for it. It’s a fun pattern isn’t it? Im tired tonight and I know it’s all I’ve got the energy to knit.

  20. Burk permalink
    January 22, 2012 11:56 am

    That scarf is to die for! Love that colorway and the pattern, all beautiful! Also, thanks for another book selection, one of my favorite authors!

Trackbacks

  1. Yarn Along:: Just in Time « Peaceful Knitter

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

