Skip to content

Two Thumbs Up

March 5, 2012

 

Tosh Sock in Black Velvet

Recently I played copycat to someone else’s idea of knitting a Hitchhiker Shawl.  I had seen the pattern around, and admittedly I dismissed it as being “just” another garter stitch scarf.  But when Bells said she was knitting one, it sounded like just the sort of soothing, absent-minded knitting I needed at the time.  I chose a pretty skein of Madelinetosh sock from my stash and got to work.

What fun!  It starts out small with just a few stitches, and quickly grows into something resembling a dinosaur smile.  All those teeth!  This pattern works great for that skein of sock yarn that is either too special or two wild; you simply knit until you have 41 teeth or are nearly out of yarn.  For the longest time I was knitting along and the ball of yarn seemed to stay the exact same size.  Then one day I looked and it was just a little pile.  Time to cast off!  I finished it in the car on our way to the aquarium and wore it the rest of the day, dangling ends and all.

This is also one of those projects that seems so tempting to cast on another one immediately after finishing, just to have as a go-to simple knit.  And during last week’s knitting mojo drought, I was seriously tempted.  I’ve also been thinking about giving one of Martina Behm’s other patterns, Lintilla, a go.  More clever garter stitch!

4 Comments
  1. March 5, 2012 1:57 pm

    This seems like a fun idea for a shawl/scarf. I’ll have to add the pattern to my list on Ravelry, thanks!

  2. March 5, 2012 3:43 pm

    It’s absolutely gorgeous. I love how the colour works out!

  3. March 5, 2012 11:37 pm

    it’s great! Glad to have inspired you to do it. I have been thinking of another one too – just for the fun of it and to maybe make it a bit bigger than the first.

  4. March 10, 2012 1:00 pm

    I LOVE your scarf! I had looked at this and put in my Favorites on Ravelry; I think I will have to buy the pattern now!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers

