Skip to content

Yarn Along:: Finish, Frog, or Slog Along

April 4, 2012

From Yarn Along with Ginny:  ~ Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading? 

These socks have been on the needles far too long.  Inspired by the Finish, Frog, or Slog activity over on the Doubleknit Podcast Fans group, I’m trying to finish one of my more long-term knitting projects.  I worked the leg of sock #2 while traveling in March, then set them aside when I got to the gusset.  I then picked them back up while in Seattle last weekend and started working on all Cookie A. magic gusset business.  Now I am literally forcing myself to work on them at home, not bringing out anything simpler or more shiny and new until they’re finished.  I don’t know what my problem is; the yarn is lovely and the pattern is engaging and fun.  I guess they just take too much concentration when, more often than not, I’m in the mood for simple knitting at home.

On my nightstand right now is The Wierd Sisters, a smart, funny look at three sisters who return home to help care for their ill mother.  Raised in a house of devoted readers by a Shakespearean scholar father, these women are intelligent, competitive, and prone to carrying out some of the character traits of their literary namesakes (Bianca, Rosalind, and Cordelia).  I’m not quite half-way through yet, but am really enjoying the story so far.

And just as I’m anxious to get through those socks and on to some simpler knitting, I’m eager to finish up this book so I can get back to the Hunger Games trilogy.  Don’t judge… ; )

What’s on your nightstand and in your project bag this week?

8 Comments
  1. April 4, 2012 6:47 am

    On my nightstand is The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty (it’s an early reviewer book through LibraryThing.com) and I can’t put it down.
    On my needles are a pair of socks I’m making with the magic loop (took a class last month so have to finish the 2nd sock on my own) and Tangled Yoke Cardigan (on the 1st sleeve also on magic loop) AND one front side of Minimalist Cardigan (2nd one I’m making).

  2. April 4, 2012 7:25 am

    I’ve had projects sitting on needles for years! It’s hard to keep track of them sometimes, but the feeling of accomplishment is always worth the struggle to get through. Sometimes I get bored with a project, but I always go back! As far as books go, I am a Fantasy and History reader. Right now I am reading A History of Europe by J. M. Roberts. Since I got my Kindle for Christmas I can bounce through my books! lol

  3. veronago permalink
    April 4, 2012 7:39 am

    I love these colors! I am trying to make some leg warmers for a friend and I have started my Milo project. I am knitting, but not as much as I would like to : )

  4. katieleigh permalink
    April 4, 2012 9:23 am

    I’m finishing up a pair of fingerless gloves for a friend (her birthday is next week), and savoring a Miss Read novel. Delightful.

  5. April 4, 2012 4:23 pm

    Thanks for the book recommendation and that blue is gorgeous.

  6. April 4, 2012 7:11 pm

    It’s all about the must finish projects for me too. Keep at it. I cant wait to see the socks all finished!

  7. April 5, 2012 4:55 am

    As someone who is eagerly awaiting the third book in The Infernal Devices series (and who left young adulthood behind long ago), I don’t judge ;) I’m reading My Cousin Rachel at the moment, and knitting away on a few different projects.

  8. April 9, 2012 4:33 pm

    Thanks, I’m trying!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

