Skip to content

Yarn Along:: Under the Never-ending Scarf

July 11, 2012

From Ginny~ Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs.  I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading? Take a photo and share it either on your blog or on Flickr. Leave a link below to share your photo with the rest of us! ~

I cast on this airy mohair affair of a scarf on a whim at the shop a few weeks ago.  We needed a sample out of the yarn,and I was in the mood for a quick knit.  Ha.  It’s simple, to be sure, and it does only have 20-some rows to it.  I’m nearly done, but now each row has over 1200 stitches of laceweight mohair/silk yarn.  It is so light and airy, which will be an asset in the finished piece, but it’s hard to knit quickly; it takes me an hour to knit each row now.  For that reason, it has been dragging.  I wish I were more zen about it, finding peace in knitting a few stitches here and there over the course of the day, but I’m not.  I want it to be finished yesterday, and that’s just the way some projects go!

Not dragging, however, is my summer reading!  I picked each of these books up on spontaneous trips to local bookshops on travels, and have been so happy I did.  Under the Never Sky is a young-adult adventure about what happens when a young woman is thrust out of her sheltered society into the terrifying outside world, teeming with electrical storms, “savages”, and cannibals.  The things she sees and the people she meets are far more real and complex than anything she’s ever experienced.  There’s mystery and action and young people doing extraordinary things; it’s been an entertaining and engaging book, a perfect summer read.

I picked up The Homemade Pantry in an aim to help shake off the cooking slump I’ve been in.  Part narrative, part delicious recipes and photos, this book is surely inspiring me to do things like make cheese and bake graham crackers, perhaps even on a work night. Can you imagine?  I love how Alana shares the realities of her busy family life while also wanting to eat well and make good food; sometimes it’s messy, it certainly takes longer, but the end result is well worth it.  So often lately I’ve been opting for the quick fix, while my body and palate crave the more wholesome and tasty alternatives.  I continue to read this book in bed at night, and hope to take myself from inspiration to action soon. For the call of fresh homemade mozzarella on a crispy grilled pizza in the backyard sounds like all sorts of heaven to me.

So what is on your nightstand and in your project basket this week?  And while we’re at it, what have you been cooking (or dreaming of cooking)?  Please share!

17 Comments
  1. July 11, 2012 11:39 am

    That yarn looks so soft and beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing about The HOmemade Pantry – I have been thinking about getting a copy.

  2. July 11, 2012 12:25 pm

    Such lovely yarn!
    Homemade Pantry sounds like a fantastic read – particularly since you mention that the author admits to a busy life and still manages to make from scratch!

  3. July 11, 2012 1:54 pm

    Lovely! I have made scarves like that… simple, only a handful of rows, but geesh! The stitch counts! I am not a zen knitter at that point either… hang in there, you’ll make it!

  4. July 11, 2012 2:07 pm

    Mohair….oy vey. The yarn for my sister’s wedding shawl has mohair in it. It’s just a joy to work with sometimes /sacasm/. She’s just lucky she’s my sis and I love her. ;-)

    Hey, if you need more samples done around the fall, let me know. I would love the chance to do that for you again.

  5. July 11, 2012 2:42 pm

    I love cooking, but I find knitting and child rearing have been interfering with my cooking habits. That said, knitting may have to go to the sidelines while I do some jam making later this month.

  6. July 11, 2012 2:57 pm

    hmmm I was thinking of starting my first project with mohair but after reading this maybe i’ll give it a miss. Yours is very beautiful just not sure if I have the necessary concentration span!

  7. reneevlast permalink
    July 11, 2012 3:32 pm

    Hello Sonia,

    What a lovely space you have here! So glad to have found it via Ginny’s Yarn Along.

    I, too, am working on knitting a scarf right now, thinking it would be a ‘quick’ project. But golly my ball of Debbie Bliss ‘Angel’ yarn is going on for miles and miles! I feel exactly the same as you.

    It’s around the second or third time I’ve seen Homemade Pantry in the blogs I follow. How is it? Perhaps it’s a sign that I should pick it up :)

    Happy knitting!

  8. July 11, 2012 3:47 pm

    the book sounds really interesting. going to have to add it to my list!
    can’t wait to see the completed scarf

  9. July 11, 2012 6:14 pm

    Not reading much right now, but I’ve been cooking with CollegeDude who is home for the summer. We’re having friends over for dinner, so we’re doing grilled scallops/shrimp over pasta with Asian veggies (baby bok choy, snow pea pods, red pepper, shiitake mushrooms). A little labor intensive but very pretty, and delicious. Dessert is blueberry cream pie with a gingersnap crust, and there’s leftover fresh raspberry sorbet. I’ve gained a couple pounds since kiddo has been home; I wonder why?! Recipes or links to all of these are on my blog.

  10. July 12, 2012 10:32 am

    That’s what sold me on it too!

  11. July 12, 2012 10:32 am

    Thank you! I love that she is so open about how messy and challenging it can be, and that she does use storebought versions of some of the things in her own cookbook on occasion!

  12. July 12, 2012 10:32 am

    One stitch at a time… : )

  13. July 12, 2012 10:33 am

    It’s not ideal for hot, sticky summer knitting, that’s for sure!

    I welcome your knitting talents for more samples. Thank you for the offer!

  14. July 12, 2012 10:33 am

    Same here!

  15. July 12, 2012 10:34 am

    Thank you and welcome! The book is definitely worth paging through to see if you connect. I’m really enjoying it and have already made one recipe.

  16. July 12, 2012 10:35 am

    When can I come over for dinner? ; )

  17. projectstash permalink
    July 12, 2012 6:42 pm

    The scarf looks so cozy and I know what you mean about wanting it finished … yesterday! Great book recommendations — I’m going to check those out.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

