Skip to content

Yarn Along:: Getting Settled

August 8, 2012

From Ginny: ~ Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs.

We’ve lived in our new home for just over a week now.  It was a relatively low-key move within our same community, so that has really helped ease the transition.  In some ways it feels as if we’ve lived here a lot longer than a week; we are all very comfortable here and have settled in to somewhat of a new daily routine.  Of course, we’ve had houseguests already, and Sweetie started a new job on Monday, so there’s definitely more settling to be done.  For now I’m choosing to ignore the boxes in the garage and guest room closet, or the fact that we’re sleeping on a mattress on the floor, and focus instead on organizing the art supplies in our new craft room (!!!) and daydreaming about next summer’s garden.

In times of change and stress, I turn to simple knits in cheerful colors and books rich with their own characters’ drama.  This is the Show-Off Stranded sock, a free pattern that I’ve knit once before.  It does wonders for a variegated yarn, letting the colors play and comingle.  I remember the pattern having some interesting heel options, so I’m looking forward to that bit of juicy knitting in another couple of inches or so.  In the meantime, my other knitting is in a time out and I have been working on seaming up my Tidal cardigan.  Then it’s time to knit a button band and pick out buttons, something simple I can handle while gazing out the window of my new living room.  There’s mountains out those windows, I say, mountains!

So what is on your nightstand and in your project basket this week?

6 Comments
  1. August 8, 2012 11:44 am

    Glad the move went well for you, Sweetie and PB.

    Maine is on my to-read list. Maybe I’ll get to it in the fall.

  2. Leslie permalink
    August 8, 2012 12:10 pm

    Congratulations and best wishes in your new home! I read that book “Maine” and really loved it because we have been going to Ogunquit for many years. It was very familiar! Also, great characters! XO Leslie

  3. August 8, 2012 7:44 pm

    Your sock is looking gorgeous in those lovely colours.
    That is a nice view you have. Enjoy settling in.

  4. August 9, 2012 10:12 pm

    Glad the move went so well…and I really like those socks!

  5. August 10, 2012 2:59 am

    Glad you’re settling in easily. I love how your yarn and sock pattern are cooperating!

    Currently knitting a blueberry half-pi shawl, for me, in laceweight (yowza, skinny yarn) on HiyaHiya sharps (slick!)

  6. Katie permalink
    August 15, 2012 9:26 am

    I love that view!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

