Skip to content

Yarn Along :: On + Off the Needles

August 22, 2012

From Ginny~ Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. 

I may be reading the same book this week (and still very much enjoying it, I might add), but I have cast on a new knitting project!  This is some delicious yarn in a shade somewhat risky for a baby knit.  But it’s sophisticated and mysterious and beautiful, just right for the intended family.  I’m quite excited to be knitting the baby version of an adult sweater I have long admired.  How fun to get to try out the techniques on a small-scale before committing to an adult size?  The perfect strategy for a newbie sweater knitter, I daresay.

That coral pile in the background is my finished Tidal cardigan.  It’s all over except for the matter of buttons, which I hope to find this week.  My button collection is still packed up from the move, and besides I don’t think I have enough of any one kind for this sweater.  And the baby cardigan will also need buttons, so I suppose a-button shopping I must go!

What is on your nightstand and in your project bag this week?

Sidenote: We’re gearing up for a fall sweater knit-along over at Stash, and Liz has cooked up a great series of blog posts to help get ready.  Check it out, subscribe if you like, and say hello if you’d like to join in; all are welcome!.  We’re having a nice discussion over in the Stash Ravelry group, too.

8 Comments
  1. August 22, 2012 6:35 am

    I love the color of the baby knit….I enjoy the traditional baby colors, but I love when something is more non-traditional

  2. August 22, 2012 7:43 am

    Awesome yarn, and I totally agree, being able to make a garment on a small scale is always nice before you commit to the adult version. Thanks for the links.

  3. August 22, 2012 10:23 am

    that yarn is lovely and i think it will go great with that pattern. i think i will mark that pattern and try one for my baby!

  4. August 22, 2012 11:17 am

    Oh, I’ve long admired that pattern. I love your unusual baby colour, and I think it will be beautiful.
    xo Jules

  5. August 22, 2012 12:52 pm

    Gorgeous yarn, Sonia! As you may remember, I’m not one for the stereotypical boy/girl colors, so I love your color choice.

  6. August 22, 2012 8:52 pm

    Oh yes, that yarn is gorgeous! Cannot wait to see it finished!

  7. August 23, 2012 7:51 am

    I do remember! ; )

  8. August 23, 2012 7:52 am

    Thank you! I was definitely trying to pick something oaky!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers

